Your ICT infrastructure is under attack. Let us be the first and only ones to succeed in this.

As an entrepreneur, you face a wide variety of challenges every day. One of these is maintaining the security of your company's assets. These exist not only physically, but increasingly also in electronic form. Industrial espionage, cyber attacks and targeted malware are just a few examples from a long list of risks. With our simulations (Attack Simulation, Red Teaming and Purple Teaming), we test the overall resilience of your organization to cyber attacks.

Selected references on the subject

Our Services

  • Attack Simulation

    An attack simulation is the simulation of real cyber attacks with the aim of identifying security gaps and vulnerabilities in a system or network. The aim is to evaluate the effectiveness of security controls, identify potential entry points for attackers and provide actionable recommendations to improve security. Attack simulations can include various techniques, such as network and vulnerability scans, social engineering and the exploitation of known vulnerabilities.

    The aim of an attack simulation is to identify relevant security gaps and vulnerabilities within key systems and services and to identify potential improvements so that future attacks cannot exploit the same gaps and weaknesses for a successful attack.

  • Purple Teaming

    Purple Teaming is a collaborative approach in which the attacking team ("Red Team") and the defending team ("Blue Team") work together ("Purple Team"). This involves executing jointly defined attack techniques based on the MITRE ATT&CK Framework, for example, whereby the detection of the protection and detection systems involved is verified jointly at different points in the attack chain.

    The goal of purple teaming is to jointly identify gaps and weaknesses within the detection capabilities and identify potential improvements so that future attacks can be detected faster, easier and more comprehensively.

  • Red Teaming

    Red Teaming is a more comprehensive and sophisticated approach to simulation compared to an attack simulation. The attacking team ("Red Team") acts as an independent group, separate from the defending team of the organization and without their prior knowledge, in order to provide an objective and unbiased perspective. The attacking team carefully evaluates each step, assessing the risk of detection against the chances of success and the expected benefit of each attack technique used, with the aim of remaining undetected for as long as possible.

    The aim of Red Teaming is to challenge and test existing and established detection and response processes by simulating a real adversary under the most realistic conditions possible, thus identifying possible discrepancies and weaknesses in these processes so that future attacks can be analyzed, understood and stopped more quickly.

Difference between Attack Simulation, Red Teaming and Purple Teaming

The aim of an attack simulation is to uncover security gaps and vulnerabilities that are particularly relevant for you and your company. As with red teaming, a real attacker is simulated, but for reasons of efficiency, no consideration is given to any detection and response capabilities.

In contrast, red teaming takes existing detection and response processes into account by carefully weighing up and selecting the chosen attack techniques before execution in order to remain undetected as an attacker for as long as possible. This also uncovers and exploits vulnerabilities and security gaps, but the main focus is on testing your company's existing detection and response capabilities.

Purple Teaming, on the other hand, involves collaborative testing between the attacker and defender of a predefined series of attack techniques with the aim of uncovering any gaps and weaknesses in your company's detection capabilities as efficiently and comprehensively as possible.
Attack Simulation Red Teaming Purple Teaming
Focus Weak points Reaction Detection
Goal Identification of relevant attack paths to predefined targets (e.g. worst-case scenarios) Evaluate detection and response capabilities for attacks on predefined targets Identify weaknesses and gaps in the detection of attack techniques
Vulnerabilities
Stealthiness
Detection
Reaction
Informed parties Affected teams and third-party providers Necessary minimum (e.g. sponsor, account manager of affected third-party provider) Blue Team, Affected teams and third-party providers

Why Attack Simulation?

To effectively protect your company from cyber threats, you should carry out simulations. These offer a proactive and holistic approach that goes beyond traditional security checks and allows you to run through realistic attack scenarios - putting not only your infrastructure but also your processes and employees to the test.

Proactive Simulation

Traditional security assessments such as penetration tests limit the scope and instead focus on the depth of the test. In a real attack, such boundaries are not observed. In our attack simulations, the traditional scope is also eliminated, allowing us to proactively play out realistic attack scenarios. This not only checks your infrastructure, but also your processes and your employees in all areas.

Worst-Case Scenarios

Our attack simulations are tailored to the specific requirements of your organization and your business processes. To identify realistic and context-specific worst-case scenarios, these are developed together with your internal specialists. Such scenarios must be developed individually for each company and can, for example, include access to research results, payroll data, or the impairment of industrial and control systems. This approach ensures that critical scenarios for your organization are considered within the scope of the attack simulation.

Relevant Risks

In an attack simulation, your company is exposed to real attacks, all of which aim to control the predefined worst-case scenarios. This gives you a clear idea of the current threat situation in your company. Our security experts provide you with concrete answers to the question of which areas need to be protected more strongly and where the existing protection is already sufficient from a risk perspective. Based on this, individual packages of measures can be defined and implemented. One way to identify your current risk areas in a measurable way without interfering with your infrastructure is provided by our Cyber Security Assessment.

Possible modules of a simulation

A comprehensive security strategy requires the simulation of various attack scenarios in order to uncover potential vulnerabilities and develop effective defensive measures. Our attack simulation has a modular structure and can, for example, consist of a combination of the following modules.

01

External attack

Within a modern organization, it is often unavoidable that at least some IT systems are publicly accessible via the internet. This exposure makes the systems an interesting target for attack, as it allows sensitive data to be accessed directly and a first step towards the internal network to be taken. In this scenario, Redguard behaves like an external attacker trying to gain access to systems in your infrastructure that are accessible via the internet. Our security experts use both known and specifically tailored attack methods for your systems. If access is achieved, possible sensitive data is extracted and analyzed. Furthermore, attempts are made to penetrate into internal network areas.

02

Spear Phishing

This module mounts tailored phishing attacks on individual persons or groups. It involves an attempt to target the persons in a deliberately relevant context in order to encourage them to disclose sensitive information like customer data or login details or even to execute malware on their workstations. The findings of this module provide a clear impression of your current employee awareness and can be used furthermore as a basis for relevant training or evaluating technical measures. Last but not least, this external threat puts the perimeter security through its paces – and therewith also the responsible employees within your organization.

03

Malware Infection

All important data or information will at some point be processed or read by someone. Most commonly this will take place on the employees’ client devices. This means that in many cases, attackers will not have to penetrate central servers. Instead it is sufficient if they gain access to suitable client devices to obtain the data they seek. This scenario simulates infection of a client with malware as a means of accessing sensitive data. The next step is to place the device in your internal network and to manipulate it via the Internet using the command & control channel (C2). Additionally, we attempt to transfer sensitive data out of the company, which enables an assessment of the installed data loss prevention (DLP) systems and the defense mechanisms such as intrusion detection and prevention systems (IDS/IPS).

04

Social Engineering

Our company physically penetrates your business premises (without the use of force). In particular, this involves the use of social engineering. The underlying aim is to steal or least copy sensitive information in hard copy (e.g. documents), as well as to position technical eavesdropping devices. This module addresses a large number of issues: Firstly, the social engineering attack reviews the current awareness among your employees, while secondly assessing the internal security measures such as active security systems and other technical mechanisms.

05

Internal Attack

Placed on your internal network, we simulate an attacker who has gained access to your internal network. We uncover vulnerabilities and actively exploit them there. So-called exploits can be used, for example, or techniques such as the redirection of network traffic and technically supported social engineering (e.g. displaying false login masks). The aim of this scenario is to determine what an attacker can achieve once it has penetrated your internal network, for example, through malware. This scenario enables well-founded statements to be made about the security status of the internal network and simulates the potential damage that could be caused by a failure of the perimeter security.

Ihre ICT-Infrastruktur wird angegriffen. Lassen sie uns die Ersten und Einzigen sein, die damit Erfolg haben.

Als Unternehmer begegnen Sie täglich den verschiedensten Herausforderungen. Eine davon ist das Aufrechterhalten der Sicherheit Ihrer Unternehmenswerte. Diese existieren nicht nur physisch, sondern vermehrt auch in elektronischer Form. Industriespionage, Cyber-Angriffe und zielgerichtete Schadsoftware sind nur ein paar Beispiele aus einer langen Liste von Risiken. Mit unseren Simulationen (Attack Simulation, Red Teaming und Purple Teaming) prüfen wir die Widerstandsfähigkeit Ihrer Organisation gegenüber Cyber-Angriffen gesamtheitlich.

Ausgewählte Referenzen zum Thema

Unsere Dienstleistungen

  • Attack Simulation

    Bei einer Attack Simulation handelt es sich um die Simulation realer Cyberangriffe mit dem Ziel, Sicherheitslücken und Schwachstellen in einem System oder Netzwerk zu identifizieren. Ziel ist es, die Wirksamkeit von Sicherheitskontrollen zu bewerten, potenzielle Eintrittspunkte für Angreifer zu identifizieren und umsetzbare Empfehlungen zur Verbesserung der Sicherheit zu geben. Attack Simulations können verschiedene Techniken umfassen, wie zum Beispiel Netzwerk- und Schwachstellenscans, Social Engineering und die Ausnutzung bekannter Schwachstellen.

    Das Ziel einer Attack Simulation besteht darin, relevante Sicherheitslücken und Schwachstellen innerhalb zentraler Systeme und Services zu identifizieren und potenzielle Verbesserungen zu ermitteln, sodass künftige Angriffe nicht dieselben Lücken und Schwächen für einen erfolgreichen Angriff nutzen können.

  • Purple Teaming

    Purple Teaming ist ein kollaborativer Ansatz, bei dem das angreifende Team ("Red Team") und das verteidigende Team ("Blue Team") zusammenarbeiten ("Purple Team"). Dabei werden gemeinsam definierte Angriffstechniken beispielsweise auf Basis vom MITRE ATT&CK Framework ausgeführt, wobei die Erkennung von involvierten Schutz- und Detektionssystemen an unterschiedlichen Stellen der Angriffskette gemeinsam verifiziert wird.

    Das Ziel eines Purple Teaming besteht darin, gemeinsam Lücken und Schwächen innerhalb der Detektionsfähigkeiten zu identifizieren und potenzielle Verbesserungen zu ermitteln, sodass künftige Angriffe schneller, einfacher und umfassender erkannt werden können.

  • Red Teaming

    Red Teaming ist im Vergleich zu einer Attack Simulation ein umfassenderer und ausgefeilterer Ansatz der Simulation. Das angreifende Team ("Red Team") agiert dabei als unabhängige Gruppe, getrennt vom verteidigenden Team der Organisation und ohne deren Vorkenntnisse, um eine objektive und unvoreingenommene Perspektive zu bieten. Das angreifende Team evaluiert dabei behutsam jeden Schritt und evaluiert dabei die Gefahr einer Erkennung im Vergleich zu den Erfolgschancen und dem erwarteten Nutzen jeder eingesetzter Angriffstechnik mit dem Ziel, möglichst lange unentdeckt zu bleiben.

    Das Ziel des Red Teaming besteht darin, bereits bestehende und etablierte Erkennungs- und Reaktionsprozesse durch die Simulation eines realen Gegners unter möglichst realistischen Bedingungen herauszufordern und zu prüfen und so mögliche Diskrepanzen und Schwächen in diesen Prozessen zu erkennen, sodass künftige Angriffe schneller analysiert, verstanden und gestoppt werden können.

Unterschiede Attack Simulation, Red Teaming und Purple Teaming

Das Ziel einer Attack Simulation ist das Aufdecken von für Sie und Ihre Unternehmung besonders relevanten Sicherheitslücken und Schwachstellen. Wie bei einem Red Teaming wird dabei ein realer Angreifer simuliert, jedoch aus Effizienzgründen keine Rücksicht auf allfällige Detektions- und Reaktionsfähigkeiten genommen.

Ein Red Teaming hingegen berücksichtigt bestehende Detektions- und Reaktionsprozesse, indem die gewählten Angriffstechniken vor einer Ausführung behutsam abgewogen und selektiert werden, um als Angreifer möglichst lange unentdeckt zu bleiben. Dadurch werden ebenfalls Schwachstellen und Sicherheitslücken aufgedeckt und ausgenutzt, jedoch liegt der Hauptfokus auf der Prüfung der bereits etablierten Detektions- und Reaktionsfähigkeiten (Detection & Reaction) Ihrer Unternehmung.

Ein Purple Teaming hingegen umfasst die kollaborative Prüfung zwischen Angreifer und Verteidiger einer vorgängig definierten Reihe an Angriffstechniken mit dem Ziel, möglichst effizient und umfassend allfällige Lücken und Schwächen in den Erkennungsfähigkeiten (Detection) Ihrer Unternehmung aufzudecken.
Angriffssimulation Red Teaming Purple Teaming
Fokus Schwachstellen Reaktion Detektion
Ziel Identifizieren von relevanten Angriffspfaden zu vordefinierten Zielen (z. B. Worst-Case-Szenarien) Bewerten von Erkennungs- und Reaktionsfähigkeiten bei Angriffen auf vordefinierte Ziele Identifizieren von Schwächen und Lücken bei der Erkennung von Angriffstechniken
Vulnerabilities
Stealthiness
Detection
Reaction
Informierte Parteien Betroffene Teams und Drittanbieter Notwendiges Minimum (z. B. Sponsor, Account Manager betroffener Drittanbieter) Blue Team, betroffene Teams und Drittanbieter

Deshalb sollten Sie Simulationen durchführen

Um Ihr Unternehmen effektiv vor Cyber-Bedrohungen zu schützen, sollten Sie Simulationen durchführen. Diese bieten eine proaktive und ganzheitliche Herangehensweise, die klassische Sicherheitsüberprüfungen übertrifft und es ermöglicht, realistische Angriffsszenarien zu durchspielen – und dabei nicht nur Ihre Infrastruktur, sondern auch Ihre Prozesse und Mitarbeitenden auf die Probe zu stellen.

Proaktiv und ganzheitlich

Klassische Sicherheitsüberprüfungen wie etwa Penetration Tests schränken den Scope ein und setzen stattdessen auf eine entsprechende Tiefe der Prüfung. Bei einem echten Angriff werden solche Abgrenzungen nicht beachtet. Bei unseren Simulationen fällt der klassische Scope ebenfalls weg, was es uns erlaubt, realistische Angriffsszenarien proaktiv durchzuspielen. So wird nicht nur Ihre Infrastruktur, sondern es werden auch Ihre Prozesse und Ihre Mitarbeitenden in sämtlichen Bereichen geprüft.

Vorbereitet auf Worst-Case-Szenarien

Unsere Simulationen richten sich nach den spezifischen Anforderungen Ihrer Organisation und Ihrer Geschäftsprozesse. Um realistische und umgebungsbezogene Worst-Case-Szenarien zu identifizieren, werden diese gemeinsam mit Ihren internen Spezialisten erarbeitet. Solche Szenarien müssen für jedes Unternehmen individuell erarbeitet werden und können beispielsweise den Zugang zu Forschungsergebnissen, Lohnlisten oder die Beeinträchtigung von Industrie- und Steuerungssystemen beinhalten. Dieses Vorgehen stellt sicher, dass im Rahmen der Simulation für Ihre Organisation kritische Szenarien betrachtet werden.

Für Sie relevante Risiken werden durchgespielt

Bei einer Simulation wird Ihr Unternehmen realen Angriffen ausgesetzt, welche alle das Ziel verfolgen, die vorab definierten Worst-Case-Szenarien kontrolliert eintreffen zu lassen. So erhalten Sie eine klare Vorstellung von der aktuellen Gefahrensituation in Ihrer Unternehmung. Unsere Sicherheitsexperten geben Ihnen konkrete Antworten auf die Frage, welche Bereiche noch stärker geschützt werden müssen und wo der vorhandene Schutz aus Risikosicht bereits ausreicht. Darauf basierend können individuelle Massnahmenpakete definiert und umgesetzt werden. Eine Möglichkeit, Ihre aktuellen Risikobereiche ohne Eingriffe in Ihre Infrastruktur messbar zu identifizieren, bietet unser Cyber Security Assessment.

Mögliche Module einer Simulation

Eine umfassende Sicherheitsstrategie erfordert die Simulation verschiedener Angriffsszenarien, um potenzielle Schwachstellen aufzudecken und effektive Abwehrmaßnahmen zu entwickeln. Unsere Attack Simulation ist modular aufgebaut und kann beispielsweise aus einer Kombination der nachfolgenden Module bestehen.

01

External Attack

Innerhalb einer modernen Organisation ist es meist unumgänglich, dass zumindest einzelne IT-Systeme öffentlich via Internet erreichbar sind. Diese Exponiertheit macht die Systeme zu einem interessanten Angriffsziel, da dadurch einerseits direkt sensitive Daten zugänglich werden und andererseits ein erster Schritt in Richtung Internes Netzwerk gelingt. In diesem Szenario verhält sich Redguard wie ein externer Angreifer, der versucht, sich Zugang zu über das Internet erreichbaren Systemen Ihrer Infrastruktur zu verschaffen. Dabei bedienen sich unsere Sicherheitsexperten sowohl bekannter wie auch spezifisch auf Ihre Systeme zugeschnittener Angriffsmethoden. Wenn ein Zugriff erreicht wird, werden mögliche sensitive Daten extrahiert und analysiert. Weiter wird versucht, in interne Netzwerkbereiche vorzudringen.

02

Spear Phishing

In diesem Modul werden aktiv Einzelpersonen und/oder Personengruppen per Phishing angegriffen. Dabei wird versucht, die Zielpersonen möglichst kontextspezifisch anzugehen, um sie dazu zu bewegen, sensitive Informationen wie etwa Kunden- oder Anmeldedaten preiszugeben oder auch Schadsoftware auf ihrem Arbeitsgerät auszuführen. Die Resultate dieses Moduls zeichnen ein klares Bild der aktuellen Mitarbeiter-Awareness und können weiter eingesetzt werden, beispielsweise für entsprechende Schulungen oder die Evaluation technischer Massnahmen. Nicht zuletzt wird durch diese von extern kommende Bedrohung auch die Perimeter-Sicherheit auf die Probe gestellt – und so auch die dafür zuständigen Mitarbeiter innerhalb Ihrer Unternehmung.

03

Malware Infection

Alle wichtigen Daten beziehungsweise Informationen müssen früher oder später durch jemanden bearbeitet oder zumindest von jemandem eingesehen werden können. Dies geschieht normalerweise über die Client-Geräte der jeweiligen Mitarbeitenden. Es ist somit für einen Angreifer nicht zwingend notwendig, in zentrale Server einzudringen, sondern es reicht schon, sich Zugang zu geeigneten Client-Geräten zu verschaffen, um an die gewünschten Daten zu gelangen. In diesem Szenario wird die Infektion eines Clients mit Schadsoftware (Malware) simuliert, um so an sensitive Daten zu kommen. In einem weiteren Schritt wird das Gerät in Ihrem internen Netz platziert und via Internet über den Kanal Command & Control (C2) kontrolliert. Zusätzlich wird auch versucht, sensitive Daten auf diesem Weg aus der Unternehmung zu transferieren, was eine Aussage bezüglich der eingesetzten Data-Loss-Prevention-(DLP)-Systeme sowie bezüglich Abwehrmassnahmen wie Intrusion Detection und Prevention-Systemen (IDS/IPS) zulässt.

04

Social Engineering

Unser Team dringt physisch (ohne Gewalteinwirkung) in Ihre Geschäftsräumlichkeiten vor. Insbesondere kommt dabei sogenanntes Social Engineering zum Einsatz. Dies mit dem Ziel, sowohl sensitive Informationen in physischer Form (wie etwa Dokumente) zu entwenden oder zumindest zu kopieren wie auch um technische Abhörgeräten gezielt zu platzieren. Dieses Modul deckt eine Vielzahl von Themen ab. Zum einen wird durch den Social-Engineering-Angriff der aktuelle Awareness-Stand Ihrer Mitarbeitenden geprüft und andererseits werden auch die internen Sicherheitsmassnahmen wie etwa aktive Schliesssysteme und andere technische Mechanismen geprüft.

05

Internal Attack

Platziert in Ihrem internen Netzwerk, simulieren wir einen Angreifer, der sich Zugang zu Ihrem internen Netzwerk verschafft hat. Dort decken wir Schwachstellen auf und nutzen diese aktiv aus. Dabei können beispielsweise sogenannte Exploits zum Einsatz kommen oder auch Techniken wie etwa das Umleiten von Netzwerkverkehr sowie technisch gestütztes Social Engineering (z.B. Anzeigen falscher Login-Masken). Ziel dieses Szenarios ist es herauszufinden, was ein Angreifer erreichen kann, sobald er etwa durch Schadsoftware in Ihr internes Netzwerk vorgedrungen ist. Durch dieses Szenario können insbesondere fundierte Aussagen über den Sicherheitsstand des internen Netzwerks abgegeben werden und es kann simuliert werden, welches Schadenspotential ein Versagen der Perimeter-Sicherheit mit sich bringt.